Follow us on...

Tournaments Stats, Facts & Stories


By the end of 2016 it seemed as if the darts world would visit Hildesheim for the last time. But Hall 39 has shaken so much at the HappyBet German Darts Championship in October 2016 that the PDC Europe decided to return. That is why the German Darts Championship (GDC) will take place in Hildesheim for the fifth time in 2017. The GDC is the most prestigious event on the European Tour. It was held in Halle / Westfalen in 2007 and was the first PDC Europe major event (at that time still "German Darts Corporation"). For the first time more than 1,000 spectators came to see the darts! The winner was Phil Taylor. In 2008 and 2009 the tournament also took place in Halle / Westfalen before the GDC took a break for three years. This was followed in 2012 by a furious comeback in Berlin. In 2013 the GDC finally moved to Hildesheim where it has become one of the most spectacular events of the year!

Prize Money
Winner £25.000
Runner-Up £10.000
Semi-Finalist £6.000
Quarter-Finalist £4.000
Last 16 £3.000
Last 32 £2.000
Last 64 £1.000
Total Prize Money: £135.000  
Previous Winner
Year Winner Finalist Result Venue
2017 Peter Wright Michael van Gerwen 6:3 Hildesheim
2016 Alan Norris Jelle Klaasen 6:5 Hildesheim
2015 Michael van Gerwen Gary Anderson 6:2 Hildesheim
2014 Gary Anderson Justin Pipe 6:5 Hildesheim
2013 Dave Chisnall Peter Wright 6:2 Hildesheim
2012 Phil Taylor Dave Chisnall 6:2 Berlin
2009 Phil Taylor Mervyn King 11:4 Halle/Westf.
2008 Co Stompé Phil Taylor 4:2 Halle/Westf.
2007 Phil Taylor Denis Ovens 4:1 Halle/Westf.